yes...that's an m&m plate 😀

Silly, simple, succulent success. So fast and easy my dad could do it.  It’s possible to add anything to it but time was of the essence! I was hungry and all I wanted was fast, easy, flavorful protein, quickly.

ITEMS TO HAVE ON HAND:

1. Ground Turkey breast 1.44 lbs made 4 good sized burgers

* if you prefer, make meat balls (more time consuming to roll but would be delicious too.

Options are good aren’t they? I say yes!

2. Capers

3. Olive oil or spray for pan (yes people, you know who you are, your bacon grease is perfectly acceptable here)

4. Salt (sea or pink)

5. Pepper (tri color is great)

6. Left over veggies or veggie(s) of choice ~ anything you have on hand will do. Fresh is preferable.

7. (optional) sauce

8. (optional) cheese

DIRECTIONS

Heat skillet with olive oil, bacon grease, or spray

assemble burgers (or balls).

I simply opened my package of meat, scored into 4 pieces and made a large ball with each then flattened to a potato looking shape

Next, poke finger holes (about 4-5 in each piece)

Add 1-2 (2-3?) capers in each hole then shape burgers and flatten covering up the caper pockets.

I chose to reheat fennel I had cooked in the same pan; but any vegetable can be incorporated INTO the burger, or cooked on the side.

This was such a fast process that by the time my pan was hot, my capered turkey burgers were shaped and ready to sear.

All burgers go in the pan and get seasoned on top there. After seasoning, I added my cold fennel and 1/2 oz of raw romano sliced on top of the fennel (i like the taste of the browned cheese mmm)

Cook, flip, cook second side and let rest…

Usually, I undercook slightly so the white meat doesn’t dry out

The capers add a beautiful burst of moisture and fabulous flavor

Easy, Simple, Healthy and a burger (or ball) with a Sweet & Salty zest. Quite Yummy in the tummy.

Eat ’em up!

Pair with just about any vegetable. Try sweet potatoes, squash, eggplant, onions, turnips, string beans any type of greens or a simple salad.

If you make turkey balls, try this sauce from Trader Joe’s. You might even want to sauce your burgers! ~ The sauce ~ it’s not organic but it’s got nice ingredients (including CAPERS!). Seems tasty. I tried it at the store and got a jar.

Options, additions and other musings to try:

*make it a meat loaf

*add an egg or two to the meat

*season with fresh herbs like parsley, thyme, oregano (i’m especially fond of greek oregano), rosemary and lemon rind

Options are a good thing. I’m sure of it. Nothing is written in stone except the 10 commandments. So work it, have fun, play and EnJoY the flavors!

LoVe,

dR  RoNa

caper (verb)[intrans] to skip or dance about in a lively, playful way

