Last week I was drawn to the special large boxes of fresh, local, beautifully plump fresh figs at Trader Joes. Fresh, California, purple figs. YUM. Knowing they’d not be there for long, I decided to buy two boxes. Also knowing, that’s more than I could possibly eat before they’d begin to grow blue fuzzy, my plan was to make some tea type simple cookies using the figs as the ‘sweet’. I found a recipe (here: http://www.leanmachinenyc.com/almond-fig-bites.html ) that looked delicious and i thought i was making until i realized that she used DRIED, not fresh, figs. lol…but that didn’t stop me. I’d already begun, and was prepared to see it thru–wet figs and all. It all turned out for the best because now I can share BOTH of these recipes for you, here! The fresh fig and almond cookies I prepared are based upon the recipe linked  above.

Normally, I think I’d have realized the recipe above called for dried figs; that’s pretty standard. But with those sweet, ripe, fresh figs right in front of me, I had other ideas. My mind was focused elsewhere (probably drooling over my imagined finished product!)

Things actually turned out well by implementing a few modifications. I thank LeanMachineNYC  for her reply to my email confirming that in fact she did used DRIED figs in her cookies. Her recipe looks delicious. It’ll also be MUCH sweeter and higher on the glycemic index than the recipe below. Either way, these almond fig cookies are wonderful and a tasty treat.

INGREDIENTS

2 c fresh ripe figs (purple or green) (stem removed)

2 1/2 – 4 c fresh almond flour/meal (i ground my own almond flour because I had almonds I’d soaked and dehydrated ~ almond flour is fine to use or use your vitamix or cuisinart to grind your nuts fresh) * see note below about soaking and dehydrating nuts

the amount of flour needed is dependent on the ‘wetness’ of the figs

if desired, up to 1 c of coconut flour or shredded coconut may be substituted for equal amount of almond flour.

4 Tbl chia seeds (or more) chia is a fantastic source of omega 3’s and fiber. It will absorb about 8-10x it’s own weight of H20

1 Orange :juice  plus the 1/2 the rind  (i used an organic valencia)

1-2 tsp. pure vanilla or the 1-2 vanilla beans scraped for the mmmmm paste

2 tsp. coconut oil

sea salt

*optional 1-2 tsp. orange or rose water (I happen to have it – so I used it.) completely optional.

DIRECTIONS

preheat oven to 350 F

1A~ If you plan to prepare  your own almond flour, put 2 cups of almonds (either raw or previously soaked and dehydrated/*see note below) in Vitamix or Food Processor and pulse to make in to fine flour/meal. Avoid leaving on the “on” setting to prevent from turning to almond BUTTER. Add fresh figs, orange juice and rind to this mixture after the almonds pulverize to flour/meal. or…

1B~ If you are using packaged almond flour/meal , pulverize the figs with the juice of the orange and rind in the Vitamix or Food Processor and then add the almond meal and combine.

If you add coconut flour or shredded coconut, combine with figs or almonds as directed above. The same directions for coconut as for the almond flour/meal.

Once step(s) 1A or 1B are complete, add the coconut butter, chia seeds, vanilla and a pinch of sea salt and orange water to the mixture.

You want your batter to have a stick together consistency. You should be able to form the cookie in your hands. If the batter is too wet, add some more almond flour, coconut flour or shreds and/or some more chia seeds to bind the excess moisture and get a nice workable dough that you can handle and shape.

Use a scoop (I used a 2 Tbl scoop) to form your cookies, then rolled them in my hands and flattened. Place cookie on to coconut oil greased baking pans and flatten (as you would a peanut butter cookie)

COOKING

Bake @ 350 for aprox 50 minutes until firm and browned. These cookies are more soft than crunchy. They freeze well and are delicious as a cookie sandwich with sugar free jam in between two. I used a tsp. of Crofters Europe Superfruit jam. Results? >>> YUM-ME!!!

*Note: Many believe it’s best to soak nuts before eating to remove enzyme inhibitors. These inhibit the seed to grow and can make digestion difficult. Soaking and drying the nuts make them taste like they’ve been roasted and make them easier on the digestive system. If you do not own  a dehydrator, you can soak, rinse and dry your nuts on a low temperature in the oven.

Some home ovens even have a dehydration setting as do many convection toaster ovens. Dehydrate around 105-115 degrees until crisp. ~soaked nuts that haven’t been dehydrated can be consumed (be sure to rinse well) but they taste funny and sort of  wet and soggy.

EnJoY

wItH lOtS oF lOvE…

Dr RoNa

